England and Wales / Erasmus Mundus

OFS Chronicles: Chapter (1+x)

Special Note: My “Overseas Filipino Student” story should’ve started with Chapter 1. But no, I missed that completely. I’ve had my fair share of misadventures, in fact plenty of them, albeit my capacity and inspiration to document these have been largely limited by pragmatic concerns (mainly of household chores, financial planning, and coping with school work). So no, I am not starting with 1 but I am turning to my elementary algebra to asymptotically bring me to a level of accuracy perceived acceptable.

We all know what they say about being a student abroad: You’re perennially broke. Unless of course your parents can spare you a few million bucks to support your living costs, or you’ve worked your ass off for several years saving up for your studies, or you have killer time management skills and luck to actually juggle part-time jobs and university. Well I don’t have any of these. So that leaves me with the option of brokenness.

And being broke is the mother of invention. :)))

EVIDENCE A: BYOB (BRING YOUR OWN BAON)

Spain has paella. Korea has kimchi. (I know hardcore foodies will raise an eyebrow with the lack of sophistication in my choice of representative items, but you get my drift). Then UK has… fish and chips – fish in batter with chips (fries) – not exactly imaginative nor phenomenal in both taste and manner of preparation. Apart from this and a number of authentic European restaurants lining the streets (by European I meant mainland Europe: e.g. Italy, Spain, France), sandwich stores come aplenty. Once, I bought an unimpressive sandwich in Pret A Manger that cost me 4.25 pounds, which converts to roughly 300 Philippine pesos. I’m starting to veer away from converting my expenses but it made me awfully sad to munch on a piece of cold bread with bacon, some lettuce and a tangy dressing at a horrid price. In any given case, you win some and you lose some: what London’s been missing out on the food department is well made up for by its brimming culture and arts scene. But that’s a different story. I digress. Bottom line: I’d rather bring my own baon.

“Baon” is a Filipino word that roughly translates to “snacks” in English, but it is one of those words you cannot ever find a direct translation otherwise you are going to miss on an important cultural nuance. If I shall bravely attempt to give you a picture of what it really is, it is food you bring from home, on a lunchbox/fancy bag/plastic/tissue paper/tupperware/Lock&Lock container, lovingly prepared by a family member or yourself, brought to school for economical and gastronomical reasons, then consumed at recess or in a desperate state of starvation (whichever comes first). That didn’t make a lot of sense but I know in my heart I know what it is!!!

Image

Chicken Tikka Masala with Thai Jasmine rice and stir fry vegetables (and a bottle of Coke Zero)

This is what Drew and I brought one day to school for “snacks” (Yes, Filipinos do have that distorted idea of a light meal). We brought all ingredients from Lidl which I’m going to bet with my kidney cost us half the price of a lonely sandwich sold in the school’s cafeteria (minus the Coke of course.. that cost me a pound :O). I went to yoga afterwards for penance.

EVIDENCE B: INEXPERIENCE IS VALUED MORE THAN A DECENT HAIRCUT FROM THE LOCAL BARBERSHOP

A regular men’s haircut on average is 12 pounds (more than 700 pesos) which is waaaaay more than what Drew was willing to pay for something that he’s got to do on a regular basis. The cost of a monthly haircut can buy him a Burberry coat from the outlet store in a year and a half. Ah, priorities. 🙂

So we transformed my room (which is practically a living room with a mattress on one side) into a barbershop, complete with Robi’s shaving set, a mirror, and my complete lack of haircutting skills.

Image

Image

Smiling my way through the possibility of my hands betraying me and shaving all of Drew’s hair off all the way to his eyebrows…

 

Image

… and it turned out OK with some tweaking. No blood was shed in the process. 🙂

Image

I have Drew to thank for trusting me enough with his hair (which roughly translates to: his life). I might as well have charged him 3 pounds, that would still have saved him 9. 🙂

Leave a comment